(L90) Career Fulfillment & Overall Happiness

What is my ideal apprenticeship job, and why?

My ideal apprenticeship job would have three major characteristics; the potential to move up the ladder/(the potential to pay well), a good team of employees, and it would have to have personal appeal to me.

It has been said for as long as the career and training processes have existed that “we all have to start somewhere”. However, where we each begin (more likely than not) plays a major role in where it is that we all end up. One of the most important characteristics of a good apprenticeship is the potential for growth within the company. This would entail raises (over time), and the ability to become an employee of greater and greater importance over time. Nobody wants to sweep floors for their entire life; if someone proves themselves to be a hard worker with dedication, they should be given the chance to have a position with more responsibility. (And more reward as well.) This would also mean honesty on the part of the employer. If someone is needed simply for the purpose of carrying out menial work around the store/business with no chance of receiving a better title, then upon employment the employee (or apprentice) should be notified of this. Nobody should be working towards an unobtainable goal because there is no flow of information between those at the top and those at the bottom.

As well as having honesty and an efficient flow of information in the workplace, it is crucial that any job or apprenticeship has a good team of employees. Now, this does not mean that everyone is best friends; this is an impractical expectation. What it does mean however, is that despite differences in opinion or lifestyle, each worker (regardless of status or title) will be willing and ready to cooperate with one another. They will help each other, and work towards the common goal of running a business rather than succumbing workplace drama and frustrations. The best thing one could ever ask for at an apprenticeship (or job) is a boss (or superiors in general) whom are willing to teach, explain and answer questions. Having patience and understanding are so important when training someone new at a job, and it will result in a more thorough and productive worker.

Lastly, for an apprenticeship to be ideal, it would have to interest me personally. While work is not necessarily fun, it goes by a lot more smoothly when I am doing something that I don’t just absolutely dread. People tend to be much more productive when doing something they find interesting or enjoyable, and I am no exception to this rule. Even at my current job I find this is true almost daily. I work in a bakery and when I know I am just going to be cutting and bagging bread all day, work goes by slowly. I have no pep in my step and my smile is paid for. However, when I am trained in the decorator’s station, and I am learning to do what I love, I quite nearly glow with joy. I am excited to go to work and decorate the cakes; I love to watch people’s faces as they get lost in awe at the skills of my coworkers. I am at my best when I feel that I am making a difference, even if that difference is as small as a little girl’s smile when I write happy birthday on her cake.

The difference between loving what you do, and tolerating what you do could be the fine line between happiness and misery. We so easily settle in our lives for work that pays more and satisfies less. I will never be a person who lives to work, and I vow to enjoy and cherish the opportunities I am granted to be fulfilled; especially when it comes to my career.

It’s never too early to start; it’s never too late to start again. Find what you love. Find people you like. Find work that makes you smile. Find happiness in all parts of your life and you will become the person you always needed. You will be the friend, the boss, the coworker you always yearned for; overflowing with potential, support, and relatability.

Leave a Reply

