Turning a Smartphone Into a Financial Management / Business Management Tool (L40)

Last year for Christmas I got the first cell phone I had had in years; a brand new iPhone 5s. It was beautiful; and having my new toy-camera-textmachine turned out to be much more beneficial than I had previously anticipated. The more comfortable I got with my thumbs on that slick glass screen, the more I found myself exploring the depths of the Apple world. Before I knew it, I was writing essays on my phone waiting for the train, and creating Powerpoint presentations at lunchtime – amazingly, all without a computer. To passer-bys I was another teenager glued to my phone; little did they know that I was teaching myself the value of my time, simply by eliminating wasted minutes. Setting alarms to be awake at certain times, or to keep you on task are extremely helpful as well. There are hundreds, probably thousands of apps available for smartphone users that will allow them to increase their productivity during what would normally be “dead time”. From document applications, to spreadsheets, to calendars/planners and, even “brain training games”.  Waiting for appointments, standing in line, commuting, even short treks to the bank – these are all instances displaying the value of our time, or rather the value of the time we’ve wasted already. Beyond using a smartphone to make calls, send and receive texts and emails, and plan meetings, they can be used to organize, and remind you of these events as well. Downloadable credit trackers, budget planners, and even stocks are now at our fingertips – and so many of us aren’t taking advantage of all the free help being offered.
Jumping back on the Apple bandwagon – there is a product that was released some years ago; it is simple. Just a little tiny white cube that plugs into the headphone jack – however this little block offers a whole new world of convenience to small business owners and self managing people. Being able to swipe and charge credit cards with a touch of your phone screen is a huge step in both time management and organization. This will also build better relationships between buyer and seller due to the interaction, which the bank lacks. This is the time and age of taking charge of our lives; taking control of what we really want. Don’t be afraid to let technology help you achieve this, but don’t let it push you back either.

2 thoughts on “Turning a Smartphone Into a Financial Management / Business Management Tool (L40)

Leave a Reply

