Montaigne – Personal Takeaway (L25)

Now that I have finished the section Montaigne, would I read any more of his essays? Why or why not?

After completing my studies of (some of) Montaigne’s essays I do not think that I will go on to read  any more of them. However, I do think I could find myself skimming through for little clips of importance. Although Montaigne provides useful food-for-thought types of advice and information in his writings, he rambles too much to make the overall essays enjoyable. Being the skeptic that he is, I don’t think he was even able to trust his own writings; typically following an aphorism he over explains and spoils it. If Montaigne were able to take his main points and have a central focus on them for each essay, he wouldn’t have felt the need to continuously explain. In this sense he is mucking up even the clear thoughts that he could get out. Montaigne was cleverly able to create a new writing style, however it had a long ways to go before it could be widely applied; this is clear from his 107 essays, as well as visible through the progression of essay structure/form today.

10 thoughts on “Montaigne – Personal Takeaway (L25)

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the identical comment. Is there any manner you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

    Like

    • Hi there!
      I’m sorry I actually have no access to that setting on the website as far as I know. It was not a setting that I added/included, so I do not believe that I have any way to remove it. If I were you I would check the emails and at the bottom of the page there is usually an option to opt out of getting more emails. I’m sorry I can’t be more help! I am also sorry that it took so long for me to find your comment. It was automatically tucked away into a spam folder which I am just now discovering. I wish you well; I’m sorry I couldn’t be more helpful!

      Like

    • Hi there! Thank you for offering me your feedback. I am not sure I completely understand what you mean by “deadlines”. I would be happy to explain my position better if you have any specific questions! (However, it has been quite a while since this assignment and I am not too sharp on the topic anymore.)
      Sorry I am getting back to your comment so late, it was hidden automatically in a spam folder for some reason. Anyways, thanks again for the input!

      Like

    • I’m glad you have been enjoying my blog; thank you for letting me know! I will begin posting weekly again as of this month; I had run into some very busy times but I am excited to bring lots of new information to the table again!
      Unfortunately, I do not have twitter. But I promise to keep you updated with new posts often enough to make up for it!
      Thanks again for reaching out! I’m sorry I got to this comment so late, it was automatically tucked away into a spam folder for some reason.

      Like

    • I’m sorry, this comment was tucked away automatically into a spam folder and I am just seeing it now. I am glad that you enjoyed this piece and I hope you find interest in some of the other things I have written as well.
      Just to clarify, are you referring to the post The Truth About Gary North & The Ron Paul Curriculum? I have gotten much more feedback than I had originally anticipated, and to my surprise, it has been 100% in support of me as well as in agreement. An unfortunate number of families/parents or children have contacted me sharing similar experiences and I hope that Gary North has not only heard me, but every other customer he has lost.
      Thanks again for the feedback!

      Like

  2. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi there! I’m sorry, this post was automatically marked as spam for some reason and so I didn’t see it until now.
      I am flattered that you consider me an established blogger; although I haven’t been blogging much lately I would be happy to help you! I am not very good with technology either in all honesty, but I got the hang of it after a while. Mostly I just played around with different tools and settings until I saw what I liked. Remember that you are always able to change stuff up, so don’t get too stuck or focused on the details at first. I would recommend using only free options in the beginning until you get comfortable formatting. Even a simple background/setup can make for the worlds best blog if your writing steals the show (I haven’t paid or a single thing on my blog).
      One of the biggest tips I can offer is to make the blog as user friendly as possible. Set up an easy to find search box on your page so people can find specific articles if they like. I also strongly recommend organizing your writing using categories. (I use categories and tags, just in case I can’t remember quite what I wrote the article for but I want to search a key topic. This will be a helpful tool for readers and for you; the easier the blog is to navigate, the more people will come back to read.)
      Most of all, do what you love. Pick colors that make you smile and fonts that make your writing come off as bold and strong. Be confident, and take pride in every piece of work you do. Always be open minded, and invite debate and discussion. A successful blog is open to any and every person with an opinion; you will learn so much by being challenged.
      Last but not least, never write anything that you would be ashamed to read in front of all your friends and family. If you must be bold and honest, be kind still. Good luck and many blessings to you. I look forward to watching your blog grow, my friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

